Our Mission

To foster an understanding of remote sensing science. Emphasis is placed on developing a meaningful dialogue among geographers interested in understanding and applying remote sensing technology in research, instruction, public service, and private enterprise.

RSSG on Facebook AAG

2020 Early Career Scholars in Remote Sensing

Sponsored by the Remote Sensing Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers

Call for Applications
Deadline: February 15, 2020

In recognition of the 100th Anniversary of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) in 2004, the AAG Remote Sensing Specialty Group (RSSG) established a competition to recognize "exemplary research scholarship in remote sensing" by post-doctoral scientists and faculty in Geography and allied fields.

The Remote Sensing Specialty Group (RSSG) of the Association of American Geographers requests applications from its members for the 2020 Early Career Award in Remote Sensing. Sponsored by the RSSG since 2004, the Award seeks to recognize individuals who are poised to make outstanding contributions to the field of remote sensing and to the geographic community through their remote sensing research, teaching, and/or outreach. The award will be announced at the RSSG Business Meeting and at the Association of American Geographer (AAG) Honors Luncheon. The recipient(s) will be awarded a cast medal and a plaque designed by the RSSG. Eligibility is limited to RSSG members who completed their PhD within 5 years of the application deadline.

Nominations should be made by email, by February 15 2020, and should include:

  1. A cover letter that includes the name, affiliation, and contact information of the nominee, and describes their contributions in remote sensing research, teaching, and/or outreach and their goals going forward.
  2. A curriculum vita
  3. A copy of a paper published in a peer reviewed journal on which the applicant is the lead author and asserts primary responsibility for the research design, execution, and writing.

Applications or questions should be sent to:
Chris Lippitt, Chairperson RSSG Awards Committee & the RSSG, respectively