Our Mission

To foster an understanding of remote sensing science. Emphasis is placed on developing a meaningful dialogue among geographers interested in understanding and applying remote sensing technology in research, instruction, public service, and private enterprise.
RSSG on Facebook AAG


  • July 2012: We have posted announcements for this year's professional and student awards. Find out more here.
  • March 2012: Dr. Yuhong He, Department of Geography, University of Toronto Mississauga (, was elected to Director (2012-2014). Dr. Alok Sahoo, Princeton University (, was elected to RSSG Session Organizer (2012-2014). Sharmistha Swain stepped down as a Student Director, and Amy Frazier (SUNY-Buffalo) was elected to fill this position.
  • March 2012: Dr. Deepak Mishra, Mississippi State University, stepped down as Director of RSSG since his additional one year term expired. His responsibility as Director of RSSG was to coordinate the Student Directors. We appreciate his service and dedication to RSSG.
  • March 2012: Dr. Sunil Narumalani, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, stepped down as RSSG Session Organizer. Thanks to outgoing RSSG Special Session Organizer, Dr. Sunil Narumalani, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
  • 2012 Student Illustrated Paper and Honors Paper Competitions announced. The deadline is September 21, 2011. Information available here.
  • Deadline for 2011 Student Honors Paper Competition extended to November 3, 2010
  • 10/06/10 - The Remote Sensing Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers is pleased to announce the 2010-2011 Illustrated Paper Competition for Students. Students at all academic levels are invited to submit illustrated papers that advance any aspect of remote sensing, GIS, or cartography. Submissions now being accepted under the Awards section.
  • 2010 - 2011 Early Career Award and Oustanding Contributions Award Nominations now being accepted here.