Early Career Award_Before2022

In recognition of the 100th Anniversary of the AAG in 2004, RSSG established a competition to recognize “exemplary research scholarship in remote sensing” by post-doctoral scientists and faculty in Geography and allied fields. This Award seeks to recognize individuals who are poised to make outstanding contributions to the field of remote sensing and to the geographic community through their remote sensing research, teaching, and/or outreach. The award will be announced at the RSSG Business Meeting and at the Association of American Geographer (AAG) Honors Luncheon. The recipient(s) will be awarded a cast medal and a plaque designed by the RSSG. Eligibility is limited to RSSG members who completed their PhD within 5 years of the application deadline. Nominations is made by email to the Chair by the middle of February each year, and the nomination letter should include the name, affiliation, and contact information of the nominee, and describes his/her contributions in remote sensing research, teaching, and/or outreach and their goals going forward, a CV, and a copy of a paper published in a peer reviewed journal on which the applicant is the lead author and asserts primary responsibility for the research design, execution, and writing.

Past Winners

  • 2021 – Dr. Bin Chen, University of Hong Kong
  • 2020 – Dr. Chunyuan Diao, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2019 – Dr. Jida Wang, Kansas State University
  • 2018 – Dr. Matt Dannenberg, University of Arizona
  • 2016 – Dr. Gang Chen, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • 2013 – Dr. Harini Sridharan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • 2012 – Dr. Caiyun Zhang, Florida Atlantic University
  • 2011 – Dr. Yuhong He, University of Toronto Mississauga
  • 2010 – Dr. Qian Yu, University of Massachusetts
  • 2009 – Dr. Le Wang, SUNY Buffalo
  • 2008 – Dr. John Rogan, Clark University
  • 2007 – Dr. Soe Myint, Arizona State University
  • 2004 – Dr. Bing Xu, Texas State University