Early Career Award

In recognition of the 100th Anniversary of the American Association of Geographers (AAG) in 2004, the AAG Remote Sensing Specialty Group (RSSG) established a competition to recognize “exemplary research scholar in remote sensing” among post-doctoral scientists and early career faculty in Geography and allied fields.

Sponsored by the RSSG since 2004, the Award seeks to recognize individuals who are poised to make outstanding contributions to the field of remote sensing and the geographic community through their research, teaching, and/or outreach. The award will be announced at the AAG 2023 Annual meeting RSSG Business Meeting and at the AAG Honors Luncheon. The recipient(s) will be awarded a plaque designed by the RSSG.

Award eligibility is limited to RSSG members who have completed their PhD or highest equivalent terminal degree in Geography or allied fields within 5 years of the application/nomination deadline.

We may review and consider exceptions to the eligibility requirement due to unforeseen circumstances with provided evidence, which may include but not be limited to the following: family or medical leave, adverse working conditions due to COVID-19 pandemic, or for other extenuating circumstances. Furthermore, we may consider applicants not meeting the degree requirement but have completed their highest degree in Geography or allied field within 5 years of the application/nomination deadline.  However, all applications/nominations will be evaluated according to the same standards.

The application/nomination should include:

  1. A cover letter that includes the name, affiliation, and contact information of the nominee, and describes their contributions in remote sensing research, teaching, and/or outreach and their goals going forward;
  2. A curriculum vita of the nominee;
  3. A copy of a paper published in a peer reviewed journal, and the applicant is the lead author and asserts primary responsibility for the research design, execution, and writing.

Past Winners

  • 2021 – Dr. Bin Chen, University of Hong Kong
  • 2020 – Dr. Chunyuan Diao, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2019 – Dr. Jida Wang, Kansas State University
  • 2018 – Dr. Matt Dannenberg, University of Arizona
  • 2016 – Dr. Gang Chen, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • 2013 – Dr. Harini Sridharan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • 2012 – Dr. Caiyun Zhang, Florida Atlantic University
  • 2011 – Dr. Yuhong He, University of Toronto Mississauga
  • 2010 – Dr. Qian Yu, University of Massachusetts
  • 2009 – Dr. Le Wang, SUNY Buffalo
  • 2008 – Dr. John Rogan, Clark University
  • 2007 – Dr. Soe Myint, Arizona State University
  • 2004 – Dr. Bing Xu, Texas State University